While We Were Away

August 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

The weather turned. It seems everyone in my village is moving a click or two slower than usual. The flies don’t buzz me as much, and the mosquitoes seem to have vanished. I for one couldn’t be happier about the change. I’m not getting ahead of myself since I know this won’t last, but it’s nice to know I don’t have to be indoors by 7a.m. The downside to this is that this is Ghana’s version of a flu season. There are 6 people in my house who have been sneezing and coughing the past week, so I imagine, they’ll give me whatever they have before this week’s end.

I severed ties with the freeloaders in my neighborhood. I’d found ways to not cut people off, but every now and then, I might give a person or two something, and this always translated as an opening to take advantage of my kindness. It’s funny; they call themselves your friends even though they barely know you and only met you probably months ago. But the moment you decide you can’t give them something or do them a favor, they get upset and call you stingy. If someone or people seem to always ask and never offer in kind, learn to cut them off.

Pests invaded my awam garden. It was frustrating to watch my watermelon and tomato plants get attacked by pests. I wanted to do the organic thing, but I gave up and bought AKAPE insecticide. I started composting and I’m considering setting up bins to produce my own natural gas after seeing the lpg shortages in Accra. It’s amazing how we claim to be an oil producing country and are clearly aware of our lpg needs, yet we manage to fall into the problem.

I had a mechanic start work on my ’95 Pontiac Sunfire. It’s actually my dad’s and has not run since ’96, but since I’m paying for its repairs, it’s mine. If this car’s fixed by the end of September, maybe I can drive it out west to Axim. Travel companions are always welcome provided they aren’t the type always glued to their blackberries.

I made some wicked chicken light and groundnut soups over the weekend with some Aussie friends. I also noticed that I’ve been so used to my mom and sisters’ cooking that I have no taste for every local dish that’s been made for me. So, I’ll forgo trying all the Ghanaian foods I haven’t had in over 15 years until one of them comes home to cook something. I guess I am still my mother’s boy after all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading While We Were Away at madeinaccra.

meta

