Hold The Shower…Just Tell Me What You Really Think!

February 1, 2015 § 6 Comments

IF YOU COULD DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN, WHAT WOULD YOU DO DIFFERENTLY?

I try not to look back lately at shoulda, coulda, wouldas, but if I should answer very honestly, I would say two things: I should’ve waited and gotten married before coming back. When you live half your life in a developed world and totally adopted its almost every custom, reverting back to backward third-world attitudes can be a bit of a challenge- especially dating attitudes and norms that are polar opposite of how you view relationships. It’ll be 4yrs in March and I have yet to meet a single LOCAL Ghanaian woman who I relate to or who understands me.
The other thing I would do differently is save up. Life is full of many unexpected twists and turns and having that sturdy financial rudder in muddy waters like the Ghanaian economy will go light years in helping make the transition for you a lot easier. Figure out your monthly living expenses and try to save 18 months worth of spending. And should you be coming to start a new business, save 24-30 months worth of spending. It might seem like a lot, but money runs in this very volatile economy. If you can’t do that, then I suggest you stay away until you can afford Ghana.

I WILL LIKE TO  RETURN TO GHANA. WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE? PLS BE HONEST.

Honest, don’t come back. Ok, I kid…but now is not a good time to be coming back to Ghana. On the other hand if you really do want to come, make sure you secure a permanent job that pays you in dollars, pounds or euros. If not, delay those plans for 2-3yrs.

FROM YOUR PREVIOUS POSTS, YOU SEEM TO DISLIKE BLACK WOMEN. HOW SIMILAR OR DIFFERENT ARE WE TO YOUR WHITE WOMEN? DO YOU THINK WHAT YOU LEFT BACK IN AMERICA ARE BETTER?

Hmmm…I’m not all crazy about local Ghanaian women. I’m not sure that extends to all black women.
Do I think what I left back in the US is better? And by “left back” I’m assuming you mean white women…then that’s a resounding YES! (rolls eyes) That answer your question? Stings like the dickens doesn’t it? Sometimes, I don’t get why you’d ask some of these questions that are easy bait for me to eviscerate your already fragile self esteem. Yet, you always serve yourselves on a platter for someone like me.
Similarities? None. There aren’t any. You can’t compare kobe beef to chichinga.
Differences? There are so, so many! Just so you know, I haven’t even started so try not to tweek me with comments or questions like that!

MY QUESTION GOES SPECIFICALLY TO RELATIONS BETWEEN NATIVE GHANAIANS AND AFRICAN AMERICANS THAT LIVE IN GHANA…HOW ARE THEY RECEIVED, PERCEIVED AND ASSIMIATED.

The hard truth? I don’t think locals much… like…foreigners. The Ghanaian hospitality is largely overblown. Don’t get me wrong…they’ll give you their bed and last plate of food if need be. But the niceties have a short shelf life. They will tire of you within a few short weeks. The ass-kissing will remain, but the inferiority complex will still be simmering underneath. They will resent you for everything they aren’t and may never be. If they can, they’ll bad-mouth you. The broad ear-to-ear infectious smiles will still remain, but give them a lil’ privacy and their true feelings about the you they don’t know will surface. Now, that is if you’re white. If you’re brown-skinned like them, your accent will take you just as far on the ass-kissing, but eventually, they’ll wonder why you would want to be in their decrepit country when they’ll do anything to be in yours. Also, the friendly you are, the more they’ll start to see you as their equal. Trust me on this: that ain’t good! It’s their opening to really not think highly of you. You’re one of them. But don’t worry, the fake smiles and ass-kissing will remain 😛

§ 6 Responses to Hold The Shower…Just Tell Me What You Really Think!

  • Jeena Effoe says:

    You are my HEEEEEEEEEERO 😀

  • efiasworld says:

    welcome back my friend….you are on a rolllllll…..lol

  • Joe Pinzone says:

    Hey Mike,
    My name is Joe Pinzone and I’m casting an international travel show about expats moving abroad. We’d love to film in Ghana and wanted to know if you could help us find expats who have moved there within the last 15 months or have been there for 3-4 years, but recently moved into a new home. The show documents their move to a new country and will place the country in fabulous light. The contributors on the show would also receive monetary compensation if they are filmed. If you’d like more information, please give me a call at 212-231-7716 or skype me at joefromnyc. You can also email me at joepinzone@leopardusa.com. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Joe Pinzone
    Casting Producer
    P: 212-231-7716
    Skype: Joefromnyc

  • Naija blog says:

    Epic post. A question: Why did you stop updating your blog?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hold The Shower…Just Tell Me What You Really Think! at madeinaccra.

meta

